Helio Castroneves wins the record-breaking fourth Indianapolis 500

Helio Castroneves has joined the most exclusive group in the Indianapolis 500 and is the fourth four-time winner of “The Greatest Spectacle in Racing”.

After joining Meyer Shank Racing for this year’s race after two decades with Team Penske, Castroneves overtook Alex Palou with two laps to go and held Palou back for victory.

Castroneves joins AJ Foyt, Rick Mears and Al Unser Sr. on the four-time winner list.

After the win, Castroneves drove his winning lap, stopped his car just behind the brick starting area and climbed over his branded fence with his crew.

Castroneves previously won the Indy 500 in 2001, 2002 and 2009.

Comments are closed.