IIHF Ladies’s World Cup 2021: time, TV channel, reside stream, schedule

It’s been more than two years since the women stepped on the ice, but the 2021 IIHF Women’s World Championship is officially here.

After the 2020 edition was canceled due to the COVID-19 pandemic and this year’s tournament was postponed from April to May to August, the best players from around the world have now come to Canada to fight for gold.

The United States is aiming for the sixth championship in a row by 2013 (the World Cup does not take place in Olympic years). USA Hockey’s last title in 2019 became controversial after an overtime goal was overturned by Finland and the Americans won on a penalty shootout.

The Finns reached the final after beating Canada 4-2 in the semi-finals. The defeat marked the first time in the history of the tournament that Canada had not played for gold. Canada has won the most gold medals (10) but is looking for its first since 2012.

As always, the Women’s World Cup is expected to be filled with big goals, big saves and even bigger wins. With national pride at stake, the battle for gold is fierce. Here is everything you need to know about the tournament.

Where will the Women’s World Cup 2021 take place?

The 2021 IIHF Women’s World Championship takes place in a bubble at the WinSport Arena in Calgary, Alta.

The tournament was originally scheduled to take place April 7-17 in Halifax and Truro, NS. Due to the ongoing pandemic, it was postponed to May 6-16, but on the morning of April 21, Hockey Canada was informed by the province that the tournament had been canceled.

Canada is hosting the championship for the eighth time this year, and the province of Alberta will host the women’s tournament for the first time. The last time Canada hosted, the Americans beat the host nation 1-0 in extra time in Kamloops, BC

When will the Women’s World Cup 2021 take place?

The tournament begins on Friday, August 20th and ends with the gold medal award on August 31st.

The group stage with two groups of five teams each ends on August 26th. After a day off, eight teams compete against each other in the quarter-finals. The semi-finals will take place on August 30th. The bronze and gold games will be played on August 31st.

Which channel will the Women’s World Cup 2021 be broadcast on?

  • TV station (USA): NHL network
  • Livestream (USA): ESPN +, fuboTV (7-day free trial)
  • TV channels (Canada): TSN, RDS
  • Livestream (Canada): TSN Direct

Every women’s World Cup game is broadcast on TSN in Canada. RDS will cover all Canada games including the playoff rounds. NHL Network will broadcast every game in the US, with ESPN + broadcasting the other games.

Which teams will take part in the Women’s World Cup 2021?

Ten teams, divided into two groups of five, take part. Each team in Group A reaches the quarter-finals. Only three teams will be promoted from Group B, with the third best team playing against the best team from Group A.

Group A Group B
United States Japan
Canada Germany
Finland Czech Republic
ROC Denmark
Switzerland Hungary

Why is Russia listed as “ROC”?

Last December, the World Anti-Doping Agency excluded Russia from international competition for four years. The ban includes Olympic Games and World Championships and Russia’s flag or name cannot be used. However, athletes are not excluded from the competition, but can only do so under a neutral flag.

ROC stands for Russian Olympic Committee, and Pyotr Tchaikovsky’s Piano Concerto No. 1 is played instead of the national anthem.

Are fans allowed at the 2021 Women’s World Cup?

Hockey Canada announced on August 18 that fans would not be allowed to play in the preliminary round matches.

“While we’d love to have fans at the WinSport Arena in Calgary, our primary focus is on the health and safety of everyone involved so that the best women hockey players in the world can compete and we can ensure we can deliver medals on August 31st.” “, Scott Smith, President and Chief Operating Officer of Hockey Canada. said a statement released by the team.

World Cup ranking of women 2021

Each team in Group A will advance to the quarter-finals as “Power 5”. The three best teams in Group B also progressed. The teams that lose in the quarter-finals compete in a separate category, with the winning team taking 5th place and a place in Group A of the 2023 tournament.


team Wins losses OTL Points
1. Canada 4th 0 0 12th
2. USA 3 1 0 9
3. Finland 2 2 0 6th
4. ROC 1 3 0 3
5. Switzerland 0 4th 0 0


team Wins losses OTL Points
1. Czech Republic 4th 0 0 12th
2. Japan 3 1 0 9
3. Germany 2 2 0 6th
4. Hungary 1 3 0 3
5. Denmark 0 4th 0 0

Wins in the regulations = 3 points
Extra time win = 2 points
Loss of overtime = 1 point

When is Canada vs. USA?

The 2021 edition of the Battle of North America will compete in the preliminary round on August 26th. Of course, it is expected that there will be a rematch – but when is everyone’s guess.

Full schedule for the 2021 Women’s World Cup

The participating teams are guaranteed four group matches each. Teams that advance to the last day of the competition (bronze or gold medal game) play a total of seven competitions.

(All times east)

Czech Republic 6, Denmark 1 14 o’clock TSN, ESPN +
Canada 5, Finland 3 6 p.m. TSN, NHLN
USA 3, Switzerland 0 9:30 p.m. TSN, NHLN
Germany 3, Hungary 0 14 o’clock TSN, ESPN +
ROC 3, Switzerland 1 6 p.m. TSN, ESPN +
Japan 1, Denmark 0 9:30 p.m. TSN, ESPN +
Czech Republic 4, Hungary 2 14 o’clock TSN, ESPN +
Canada 5, ROC 1 6 p.m. TSN, NHLN
USA 3, Finland 0 9:30 p.m. TSN, NHLN
Germany 3, Denmark 1 14 o’clock TSN, ESPN +
Japan 0, Czech Republic 4 6 p.m. TSN, ESPN +
USA 6, ROC 0 14 o’clock TSN, NHLN
Switzerland 0, Canada 5 6 p.m. TSN, NHLN
Hungary 1, Japan 4 9:30 p.m. TSN, ESPN +
ROC 0, Finland 4 14 o’clock TSN, ESPN +
Czech Republic 2, Germany 0 6 p.m. TSN, ESPN +
Denmark 1, Hungary 5 9:30 p.m. TSN, ESPN +
Finland 2, Switzerland 0 14 o’clock TSN, ESPN +
USA 1, Canada 5 6 p.m. TSN, NHLN
Japan 2, Germany 1 9:30 p.m. TSN, ESPN +
QF: ROC 2, Switzerland 3 (OT) midday TSN, NHLN
QF: USA 10, Japan 2 3:30 p.m. TSN, NHLN
QF: Canada 7, Germany 0 19 o’clock TSN, NHLN
QF: Finland 1, Czech Republic 0 10:30 p.m. TSN, NHLN
SF: USA 3, Finland 0 3 pm TSN, NHLN
SF: Canada vs. Switzerland 19 o’clock TSN, NHLN
Bronze: Finland vs. TBD 3:30 p.m. TSN, NHLN
Gold: USA vs. TBD 19:30 o’clock TSN, NHLN

Who won the 2019 Women’s World Cup?

The US won the last worlds after a controversial decision in extra time. It was the fifth gold in a row for the Americans.

WELTEN 2019: USA wins gold after controversial OT decision Finland contested

Who has won the last 10 women’s world championships?

year winner Host country
2019 United States Finland
2017 United States United States
2016 United States Canada
2015 United States Sweden
2013 United States Canada
2012 Canada United States
2011 United States Switzerland
2009 United States Finland
2008 United States China
2007 Canada Canada

Which countries won medals at the Women’s World Cup?

country gold silver bronze total
Canada 10 8th 1 19th
United States 9 10 0 19th
Finland 0 1 12th 13th
Russia 0 0 3 3
Sweden 0 0 2 2
Switzerland 0 0 1 1

Comments are closed.